Preface

The workshop series on Text, Speech and Dialogue originated in 1998 with the first TSD 1998 held in Brno, Czech Republic. This year's TSD 2000, already the third in the series, returns to Brno and to its organizers from the Faculty of Informatics at the Masaryk University. As shown by the ever growing interest in TSD series, this annual workshop developed into the prime meeting of speech and language researchers from both sides of the former Iron Curtain, which provides a unique opportunity to get acquainted with the current activities in all aspects of language communication and to witness the amazing vitality of researchers from the former East Block countries. Thanks need to be extended to all who continue to make the TSD workshop series such a success: first, to the authors themselves, without whom TSD 2000 would not exist; next, to all organizations that support TSD 2000, among them the International Speech Communication Association, the Faculty of Informatics at the Masaryk University in Brno and the Faculty of Applied Sciences, West Bohemia University in Plzeň; and last but not least, to the organizers and members of the Program Committee who spent much effort to make TSD 2000 success and who reviewed 131 contributions submitted from all corners of the world and accepted 75 out of them for presentation at the workshop. This book is evidence of the success of all involved.

June 2000

Hynek Hermansky

Organization

TSD 2000 was organized by the Faculty of Informatics, Masaryk University, in cooperation with the Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of West Bohemia in Plzeň. The workshop's Web page is located at http://www.fi.muni.cz/tsd2000/.

Program Committee

Jelinek, Frederick (USA), general chair Hermansky, Hynek (USA), executive chair Baudoin, Geneviève (France) Čermák, František (Czech Republic) Ferencz, Attila (Romania) Hajičová, Eva (Czech Republic) Hanks, Patrick (Great Britain) Kilgarriff, Adam (Great Britain) Kopeček, Ivan (Czech Republic) Kučera, Karel (Czech Republic) Matoušek, Václav (Czech Republic) Moon, Rosamund (Great Britain) Nöth, Elmar (Germany) Pala, Karel (Czech Republic) Pavesić, Nikola (Slovenia) Petkevič, Vladimír (Czech Republic) Psutka, Josef (Czech Republic) Schukat-Talamazzini, E. Günter (Germany) Skrelin, Pavel (Russia) Vintsiuk, Taras (Ukraine) Wilks, Yorick (Great Britain)

Organizing Committee

Luděk Bártek, Robert Batůšek, Pavel Gaura, Aleš Horák, Dagmar Janoušková, Dana Komárková (*secretary*), Ivan Kopeček (*co-chair*), Václav Matoušek, Pavel Nygrýn, Karel Pala (*co-chair*), Pavel Smrž, Petr Sojka (*Proceedings*), Jan Staudek, Marek Veber, Eva Žáčková

Supported by:

International Speech Communication Association